Release: 31.01.2023

Sample Translations


Sample Translations

A journey of five days spanning an entire century.

Escaping from her duties, husband and children for a few days, a woman journeys from Den Haag to Frankfurt via Amsterdam. The year is 1969, and she reflects on three romances set in times of war and defeat: her own, her parents’ and that of an ancestor during the Napoleonic wars. The latter is the story she wants to tell, but the narratives and lives seem increasingly to interweave. A king builds the modern state of the Netherlands; his illegitimate daughter is forced into a noble family from Mecklenburg; her great-grandson, a U-boat captain in the Imperial German navy, manages to trick the Socialist revolutionary sailors in Kiel, and tries to escape the darkness of his own soul, eventually becoming a preacher; his daughter, the traveller/narrator, who wanted to be a good German girl yet also oppose the Nazis, finds freedom in writing and whose ex-POW husband from a landowning family is slowly becoming estranged from her. Friedrich Christian Delius’s new novel builds on his own family’s moving story. It tells of a woman’s journey between Scheveningen, Heiligendamm and the German Rhine, a journey of five days that spans a whole century.

Contact Foreign Rights
Sample Translations
Rights sold to

France - Editions Fayard

  • Publisher: Rowohlt Taschenbuch
  • Release: 31.01.2023
  • 208 pages
  • ISBN: 978-3-499-01043-9
Cover Download Die Liebesgeschichtenerzählerin
Die Liebesgeschichtenerzählerin

Please be advised that the book cover may be used in its original design only. Details and distortions are not permitted under copyright law.

Jürgen Bauer

Friedrich Christian Delius

Friedrich Christian Delius, born 1943 in Rome, died 2022 in Berlin, grew up in central Germany. He did his doctoral thesis in German studies in 1970 and subsequently worked as a book editor. His most recent publications are the novel Wenn die Chinesen Rügen kaufen, dann denkt an mich (2019) and the short story collection Die sieben Sprachen des Schweigens (2021). Delius won numerous awards, most recently the German Critics’ Prize, the Joseph Breitbach Prize and the Georg Büchner Prize. His edition of works published by Rowohlt Taschenbuch Verlag currently comprises nineteen volumes.