Release: 01.02.2014

Sample Translations


Sample Translations

As a young man, using parts he constructed by hand, Germany’s Konrad Zuse (1910-1995) built the world’s first computer. He was inspired by the Platonic love he felt for Lord Byron’s daughter, Ada Byron, Countess of Lovelace (1815-1852), who was herself a pioneer in the field of computing. In Delius’ novel, the elderly Zuse skips a ceremony honoring his achievements to converse with a young journalist. It’s a July evening in 1994, and Zuse tells of his work during Nazi Germany and his dramatic flight from Berlin to Bavaria in the final days of the war. The more he talks, the opener he becomes about his triumphs and failures, his views on a variety of subjects and the passion he feels for Ada Byron. He fantasizes, laments, boasts and can’t shake the feeling he’s struck something of a Faustian bargain…

Zuse’s life story is more captivating than any thriller, and this is the first time it has been treated in a work of literature. In this sophisticated novel, Delius recounts how computers and indeed the whole digital age originated in a simple Berlin apartment. This is the story both of the invention of the computer and the invention of an impossible love affair.

‘A highly absorbing story’ Die Zeit

‘Never has Delius been so buoyant, relaxed and politically incorrect’ Berliner Zeitung

Contact Foreign Rights
Sample Translations
  • Publisher: Rowohlt Taschenbuch
  • Release: 01.02.2014
  • 288 pages
  • ISBN: 978-3-499-26784-0
Cover Download Die Frau, für die ich den Computer erfand
Die Frau, für die ich den Computer erfand

Please be advised that the book cover may be used in its original design only. Details and distortions are not permitted under copyright law.

Jürgen Bauer

Friedrich Christian Delius

Friedrich Christian Delius, born 1943 in Rome, died 2022 in Berlin, grew up in central Germany. He did his doctoral thesis in German studies in 1970 and subsequently worked as a book editor. His most recent publications are the novel Wenn die Chinesen Rügen kaufen, dann denkt an mich (2019) and the short story collection Die sieben Sprachen des Schweigens (2021). Delius won numerous awards, most recently the German Critics’ Prize, the Joseph Breitbach Prize and the Georg Büchner Prize. His edition of works published by Rowohlt Taschenbuch Verlag currently comprises nineteen volumes.